Why Imo Assembly suspends three legislators

The Imo State House of Assembly has suspended three of its members over alleged legislative misconduct.

The suspended lawmakers included the representative of Ngor Okpala state constituency, Obinna Egu; the representative of Isu state constituency, Ngozi Obiefulu; and the representative of Ehime-Mbaino state constituency, Lawman Duruji.

The Speaker, Acho Ihim, announced the suspension of the legislators during a plenary on Thursday.

Duruji had shouted “point of order” during the plenary but the speaker did not sustain the order.

The suspension came on the heels of speculations that there were moves by some legislators to impeach the speaker.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s