Sturridge: One Day Na One Day, I Fit leave Liverpool one day

The England international has had problems with injury in the current campaign, but is now back to full fitness and has admitted he is frustrated at not playing every minute

Liverpool striker Daniel Sturridge says he wants to be playing every possible game for his team, while refusing to affirm he would be a one-club man. 

Sturridge was forced to watch from the bench as the Reds succumbed to a 1-0 defeat against Villarreal, leaving them trailing in their Europa League semi-final tie. 

And the forward admitted it was frustrating to be sitting out key games. 

“Maybe people don’t see this, but I am someone who wants to play every minute of every match, so maybe when I’m not starting or when I’m taken off, it’s hard to take,” he said to reporters during Sainsbury’s Active Kids promotion. 

“You want to be on the pitch every single match, every single minute.”

Sturridge additionally refused to commit his long-term future to the Anfield club, stating that he could leave one day.
“There are things I want to achieve with Liverpool. [But] I would never say I am Liverpool until I die, because I would be lying,” he said. 

“I think any player who says, ‘Oh yeah, this is the only team I will play for, for the rest of my life’, they are deluded. In football, every team looks for replacements every single year.

“So for myself all I can do every weekend is go out there, perform as well as I can, perform to the best of my abilities, and then come the end of the season hopefully have the European Championship to look forward to… and to next year.”

Leave a Reply

